NCAA Announces New Members of Board of Governors

Ncaa Wordmark Logo Large 1

The NCAA has announced the members of its new Board of Governors as outlined by the new NCAA constitution adopted in January by member schools and conferences.

The new board includes nine voting members: four from Division I (at least one school president and one conference commissioner), one from the Division II Presidents Council, one from the Division III Presidents Council, two independent members and one graduated student-athlete.

Nonvoting ex officio members are selected by virtue of their position and include the NCAA president, the chairs of the Division I Council and Divisions II and III Management Councils, the president of one historically Black college or university and one former NCAA student-athlete from each of the two divisions not represented by the voting student-athlete.

The new voting Board of Governors members are:

  • Mary-Beth Cooper, president, Springfield College.
  • Beth DeBauche, commissioner, Ohio Valley Conference.
  • John J. DeGioia, president, Georgetown University.
  • Grant Hill, independent member, co-owner of the Atlanta Hawks.
  • Linda Livingstone, president, Baylor University.
  • Jere Morehead, president, University of Georgia.
  • Steven Shirley, president, Minot State University.
  • Nadja West, independent member, 44th Surgeon General of the U.S. Army.
  • TBD, student-athlete.

The ex officio members are:

  • Javaune Adams-Gaston, president, Norfolk State University.
  • Mark Emmert, president, NCAA.
  • Jim Johnson, Division II Management Council chair and athletics director at Pittsburg State University.
  • Shane Lyons, Division I Council chair and athletics director at West Virginia University.
  • Michelle Morgan, Division III Management Council chair and athletics director at John Carroll University.
  • TBD, student-athlete.
  • TBD, student-athlete.

The voting student-athlete will be chosen by the Board of Governors at its August meeting. The graduated student-athletes who will serve on the board are:

  • Division I — Bryce Choate, former cross country/track and field student-athlete at Oral Roberts University.
  • Division II — Madeleine McKenna, former volleyball student-athlete at California University of Pennsylvania.
  • Division III — Isaiah Swann, former baseball student-athlete at the University of Texas at Dallas.

Each division selected its representative(s), and the student-athletes were chosen by the divisional Student-Athlete Advisory Committees.

Terms are generally for two years, renewable for an additional two years. DeGioia, the current chair, will serve on the board for one year to assist with the transition. After that, Division I will select a replacement representing its division. The new chair will be chosen by the board at its August meeting.

The new board will assume its duties Aug. 1. Over the next several weeks, the current and new boards will meet to facilitate the transition.

The Board of Governors is the highest governance body for the NCAA. The board has several responsibilities, including oversight of the finances of the Association, employment and evaluation of the NCAA president, and media rights and revenue-producing contracts.

Page 1 of 85
Next Page
Buyer's Guide
Information on more than 3,000 companies, sorted by category. Listings are updated daily.
Learn More
Buyer's Guide
AB Show 2024 in New Orleans
AB Show is a solution-focused event for athletics, fitness, recreation and military professionals.
Nov. 19-22, 2024
Learn More
AB Show 2024