Canada, Mexico, United States Land 2026 World Cup

Andy Berg Headshot

Canada, Mexico and the United States have been named joint hosts of the 2026 World Cup.

According to ESPN, the three-nation bid managed to garner 134 votes from the 200 national soccer federations that voted at the end of FIFA’s annual Congress. Morocco earned 65 votes. Only Iran choose neither option, while Cuba, Slovenia and Spain abstained.

The 2026 Cup will feature an expanded field of 48 teams — the current field has 32. The joint bid plans call for 60 of the 80 games to be played in the United States, which includes all matches from the quarterfinals onward. Canada and Mexico will host 10 games apiece. The final will be played at MetLife Stadium just outside New York City.

Log in to view the full article
AB Show 2023 in Baltimore
AB Show is a solution-focused event for athletics, fitness, recreation and military professionals.
Nov 1-4, 2023
Learn More
AB Show 2023
Buyer's Guide
Information on more than 3,000 companies, sorted by category. Listings are updated daily.
Learn More
Buyer's Guide