Premium Partners

Not Everyone Declaring Alabama National Champion

Paul Steinbach Headshot

Launched as part of the 2014 season, the College Football Playoff was supposed to end debate over which NCAA Division I team is crowned national champion. It’s a debate that had dawged (sorry, Georgia) the sport for decades.

But even before the Crimson Tide of Alabama and Georgia’s Bulldogs teed it up in last night’s CFP championship game, Florida governor Rick Scott had settled earlier Monday the issue of who should bear the 2017 title — the University of Central Florida Knights.

After six WHEREASes outlining UCF’s accomplishments this season (undefeated record, Peach Bowl win over Auburn) and his state’s history of college football good fortune, Scott concludes his formal resolution by stating, “NOW, THEREFORE, I, Rick Scott, Governor of the State of Florida, do hereby proclaim that the UCF Knights are this season’s best college football team and will be recognized as the 2017 College Football National Champions in Florida.”

UCF Football’s Twitter account, which itself states “2017 National Champions,” promptly thanked the governor for making it official.

Turns out, Alabama defeated Georgia at Atlanta’s Mercedes-Benz Stadium, 26-23, in an overtime thriller for the ages, then received 57 first-place votes in the final AP Poll released today. Unanimous, right? Nope. The other four first-place votes went to UCF.

And if you didn't have a horse in last night's amazing race — or don't agree with the claim Scott, UCF or four AP pols stake — fear not. SB Nation's Jason Kirk today lists "23 teams that should declare themselves 2017's only college football national champs."

Let the debate — if only tongue in cheek — continue.

AB Show 2022 in Orlando
AB Show is a solution-focused event for athletics, fitness, recreation and military professionals.
Learn More
AB Show
Buyer's Guide
Information on more than 3,000 companies, sorted by category. Listings are updated daily.
Learn More
Buyer's Guide